Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Two Steps Back...

So, yesterday, Tia decided to bolt up the ramp to the porch and then slip when her back legs hit the porch floor. She didn't fall, but her recently repaired leg did slip underneath her. Lovely. I can't tell if she's favoring it or not. It seems sometimes that she isn't putting as much weight on it as she was, but it's hard to tell. I can't watch her walk from behind until Jim gets here so he can walk her around on the leash while I watch. Ugh. I'm sure if she is favoring it, it's just a muscle strain, but how do you know for sure without going to the vet and having x-rays taken?! I'm just not letting my brain go there right now. I just had an unnecessary urinalysis done for her yesterday. She was begging to go out to potty 7 and 8 times a day, but she would never do anything when she got out there. She would wait until 11pm to pee or poop and that was it until the next night around 11pm. Eliminating once every 24 hours just didn't seem right to me. Since she's prone to urinary infections, I assumed she had one. If I had spoken to the vet before I had them send her urine off, she would have nixed the test. If the vet assistants at the animal hospital had asked the vet before they sent it off, I wouldn't have been out $65. Oh well. My fault. At least I know her kidneys are functioning perfectly. The vet thinks she's a)bored to death and just wants to be outside and b)possible in need of  having her anal glands dealt with. Yum. I'll be that's why she went to Vet school! Yuck. Anyway, Tia's fine, and I'm over reacting. Per usual.

I've made a pot of tea and am taking a break from getting all of my this's and that's together for my trek over to Mom's tonight. I'm leaving poor Tia and Jim here to fend for themselves for Thanksgiving. I hate it. We decided that it would not be in Tia's best interest to be at Mom's with her cousins Marcario and Marley this early in her recovery. Since she can't stay by herself all day, Jim is going to stay with her. I hate that. My two biggest 'Thankful Fors' aren't going to be with me tomorrow. Jim is loading his bisque kiln this morning, and once it gets hot enough to close the lid he's headed back here. I'm making him a big pot of his favorite ham and bean soup, I got him a big bag of Frito's Scoops, and there are two bombers of beer in the fridge for him to choose from. The batteries are in the charger, so he can play Incredible Hulk on the XBox for the next 36 hours straight if he wants to without fear of running out of controller batteries. I think he'll be ok. I hate that he won't get to hang out at Mom's and drink beer and pig out with the rest of us, though. It should be pretty interesting. Mom had surgery today on her foot, so she's not going to move from her recliner much. My sister and I are going to do the final prep tonight (I'm sure I'll end up making the pies when I get there tonight - she didn't sound like she was over eager to try rolling out pie crust). I'm sure my brother and sister-in-law will be over tomorrow to help cook. Ok, sister-in-law to help cook, brother to drink beer and watch.

I do hope that Tia doesn't spend the next two days whining and crying like she has been. I know she's bored, but I don't want Jim to call me tomorrow afternoon and tell me he's done babysitting! She's been quite the little pill.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Thanksgiving with their families and/or friends. Remember, no turkey bones for dogs!

No comments:

Post a Comment